Book Reviews

Dream On: Review

Dream On
By Angie Hockman
Romantic Comedy
352 pages
Published July 5, 2022 by Simon and Schuster

⭐⭐½

After being in a car accident, Cass, wakes up from her 6-day coma to a head full of new memories of her and her boyfriend. However, her boyfriend does not actually exist and all these memories are false. Fast forward to about a year later, she meets the man of her dreams, literally. Devin, the supposed figment of imagination-boyfriend, is in fact real! He just doesn’t know, Cass. They decide to spend time together to figure out any possible connection that may have caused these new memories.

I’ll be straightforward and honest here, I didn’t really like this book. It had the potential to be so good, the whole idea of waking from a coma to all these fake memories with a boyfriend that never happened, is so crazy and interesting. Unfortunately, I did not find this to be interesting. There were parts that were good and interesting and kept me reading, but I just felt this story was lacking a lot. The writing was good but it felt very stretched out and slow. I also found it to be pretty predictable. I predicted just about everything that happened, which I know is pretty common in romance but still. This is in the romantic comedy genre, but I didn’t pick up on any comedy at all and the romances felt forced and lacked chemistry and spark. Overall, I was pretty disappointed with this book.

I recieved this advance copy from NetGalley, Angie Hockman and Simon and Schuster in exchange for my honest review.

Thank you for reading my blog. Follow me on Instagram and Goodreads for more!

Leave a comment